CD mobile

Counting plates

Hand painting

The book area


We are committed to giving each child age and stage related activities and play opportunities to support their individual learning and development.

Each child's interests are taken into consideration when planning activities, and each child's interests followed to develop their natural curiosity and support them in trying new activities and experiences.

We work closely with parents, sharing information including next steps and their child's interests at home. We ask parents for ideas for their child's next steps which are then added to the child's learning  journal.

Since September 2012 we have been working with the revised EYFS.  There are now two summative judgements for each child which are a statutory requirement.

Before each child's third birthday a two year check will be carried out with parents.

At the end of the reception year the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile will be completed.

During your child's time at playgroup we will be monitoring their development through various forms of observation.  Each child will have a learning journal, where information from home is welcomed; this will include observations and photographs to monitor each child and make sure they are making good progress.

The themes and principles of the Early Years are

  • Unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling environments
  • Learning and development

Prime and specific areas of learning

There are now seven areas of learning.  These fit into prime and specific areas of learning.  There is now a bigger emphasis on building foundations for learning, supporting and developing life skills and preparing for school and the future.

In order for children to develop in specific areas they must have firmly established learning within the prime areas of learning.

Three prime areas of learning

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Physical development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Personal , social and emotional development

  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Making relationships

Specific areas of learning


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

Understanding  the World

  • People and communities
  • The World
  • Technology

Expressive arts and design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

The information above has been taken from pages 8 and 9 of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. Please ask at playgroup if you would like to look through a hard copy.

Rodborough Playgroup uses the seven areas of learning to observe and plan, remembering that each child is unique and all learning and developmental stages will be individual to each child attending the setting.

Guide to EYFS

Download the following documents to learn all about the Early Years Foundation Stage, which is the curriculum we use to guide your child through their learning at Rodborough Playgroup.

EYFS parents guide


 EYFS guidance